February 7, 2010

Mario Earrings

Posted in Uncategorized at 8:17 pm by Jessica Lonsdale

“Sorry, Mario, but your princess is in another castle!”

Whoever first realized that 8-bit and 16-bit video game images make great craft patterns was a genius.  A simple screenshot gives you a pattern for needlepoint, cross-stitch, quilting, and even that thing where you set little plastic beads on a pegboard and iron them so they fuse together.  (I may or may not have made my ex-boyfriend a set of coasters of original MegaMan characters with said plastic beads.)

The Super Nintendo was my first video game system (thanks, Grandma!) and Super Mario Brothers was my first video game.  When I bought a Wii, it was at least as much for the downloadable classic games as it was about the nifty new controller system.

So naturally I had to make these earrings.

Wait, where's Yoshi?  Dammit!

Wait, where's Yoshi? Dammit!

The earrings are stitched onto black congress cloth* with shiny rayon embroidery floss.  Then I thoroughly coat them in Mod-Podge to seal them, and when it has fully dried, I cut them out and attach them to earring wires.  Next time I’ll probably make some that dangle, with a string of beads between the character and the earring wire.

*Except for the music notes, which are on white congress cloth.

Here's a nifty closeup.

Here's a nifty closeup.

I think the triple mushroom-flower-star ones are my favorite.  I also have plans for Raccoon Mario and Flying Koopa and several other larger ones.

I’ve also begun a sampler based on these designs (why? because I’m entirely crazy).  It’s done in a historically authentic Pennsylvania Quaker sampler style (why? who knows, I was reading an article about them).  And it’s fully-reversible (why? because apparently I’m a masochist).  I’m not sure I’ll ever finish it, but it’s kinda fun, even as a work in progress.

Leave a Reply

